Night is the Perfect Lover

Night is the perfect lover.

It is its darkness that holds me

every night in a close embrace.

The one who is always here

listening to me cry

Watching me sleep

When I slip into ignorant bliss.

Provoking my thoughts

as I stare intently at the ceiling.

Hours go by –

both of us silently enjoying the others company.

It’s almost time to say goodbye

but there’s always tonight.

I guess I’ll just sleepwalk

through the day in pain

and awake at night

to see it again.

___________________________

I lie in bed awake

waiting for night to come.

Its right on time,

I’m glad it never lies.

It looks just as good as

the day we met.

Never aging, never getting old,

perfect the way it is.

Perfect being the reason

I don’t want this love.

This is why ignorance is bliss.

  1. romantic and beautiful flow.
    love the idea of night is the perfect lover.
    brilliant poem.

  2. Very nice…. “Night is the perfect lover” and the “ignorant bliss” what a nice way to say it… I enjoyed it so much… thanks and its beautiful. Both are…
    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Connect with at Twitter @VerseEveryDay for short verses on love, life and longing…

    • Ahh, beautiful. I never thought people would use words like beautiful (and poignant) on this poem. Its much appreciated.

  3. I am so very thrilled to have you in..
    Happy Rally,
    simply visit or comment for a minimum 18 poets from my participants list, then your work is exposed to them, I am sure your talent is to re recognized by many more…

    Happy Saturday!

  4. Hi, Mariso…
    Like Jingle has said above, I like the way you use the theme of what kind of Perfect Lover will be. How love always makes people see things narrowly and selfishly: the ignorance; I like how you highlight the message.

    Keep writing. This is definitely on my list of Thursday- Poets-Rally-Week-29-Sept-23-29 nominees. ;p

    Sorry for my bad grammar (if any ^^).

    • I’m flattered. That was 1 of the main messages in the poem. The other was about my insomnia.

  5. Very poignant.

  6. Perfect being the reason I don’t want this love… Nice piece. Love and Light, Sender

    • Sergio
    • September 25th, 2010

    Very nice poem! I like it!

    • Sergio
    • September 26th, 2010

    It’s such a good poem I had to. I can’t fall asleep. So I came back to read this once more before I knock out, and now I feel much better. Good night<3

    • Sina Saberi : The Blog
    • September 26th, 2010

    wow what an intense rhythm of feelings and pain along wiht bliss right beside the corner.

    • Yea, sometimes the two fit perfectly together. I hope I translated it well enough in this poem.

  7. I really liked this one. Great flow and comparisons.

    • I’ve always thought comparisons helped a writer – explaining something complex with something simple. Thanks for the comment!

  8. this is sort of a perfect poem.. 🙂 lovely Marisol!

  9. I guess I’ll just sleepwalk

    through the day in pain

    This is my favourite part of the poem…Sometimes we just want the night to come, so that we can dream of what we truly want…

    • It’s cool that you had a favorite part of the poem. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

  10. I like it, very nice!

  11. I guess I’ll just sleepwalk
    through the day in pain
    and awake at night
    to see it again.

    gorgeous! loved it.

    • I think I just got lucky with those lines. I honestly didn’t know they had enough power that 2 people mentioned them. Thank you for reading!

      • matters not. i’m sure you’ll kepp getting lucky like this. keep witing!

    • B
    • September 28th, 2010

    Super love this.
    I hope it’s just easy to find a love like this.

    HAPPY RALLY!

    LuvLuv,
    B

    • NotATameLion
    • September 28th, 2010

    “the perfect lover”

    I perfectly love this wonderful poem.
    Thank you.

  12. I’m a night lover too..thanks for this.

  13. return favors to those who are here,
    Thanks for the participation…
    Happy Wednesday!

  14. Very valid assertion, love the rhythm and pace of discovery. Night IS the perfect lover.

    Bravo!

  15. :O I’m honored! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

