Mom & Dad’s Poem

Mom

I remember Ben.

I know he used to hit you

I know he didn’t really like me.

It was all about my sister – his own child.

I know you think I don’t remember.

But I do remember

That day I left you,

when the policeman picked me up

To ask me…

If I wanted to live with you or my dad.

I didn’t know who “dad” was,

but I knew he was better at the time.

____________________

Dad

I remember the day you met Sheila.

You didn’t even come home

and we were going to report you missing.

I remember watching you change

as she took you away from me.

I thought I was supposed to come first.

That day driving in the car,

I remember telling you both that if it were

Me and Sheila…

You would pick her over your own daughter.

I remember that day I sat on your lap

and you told me you knew she was psycho.

I also remember the day you left me –

Or actually, she kicked me out.

And you just let her.

I never knew why I couldn’t have parents.

____________________

Mom and Dad

I remember a day not long ago

When I forgave both of you.

Mom, I’ve watched you change to the positive.

Dad, I’ve watched you turn abusive and forget me.

I’ve tried to do as people tell me

and forgive and forget.

But I just couldn’t do both.

So I forgave you.

And want you to meet me halfway

And forget.

____________________

And if this gets around and you guys read this:

  1. Dad, I love who you used to be. Everyone loved how you used to be. You’re not even a father. I hope one day you take the time to remember you have a daughter. And take the time to admit you were abusive. But when that happens, I’m sorry but I’m not going to be there. You weren’t here for me.
  2. Mom, I love who you became. And also, I think Jose is good for you.
  3. If you want me to take out the names because they’re REAL, sorry I’m not going to. Putting in fake names just makes it all a lie. Poetry is where I will only tell the truth.
  1. That was really great. I think when we write what we feel it really makes a personal statement when creating poetry. Well done. Keep it up.

    • Ahh if only my “dad” would read this… I want HIM to know how I feel. Thanks for reading.

    • Jose
    • September 26th, 2010

    I’m glad you are able to express yourself in this way. I hope someday you will be able to visit your your family here. We love you and always will. P.S. please continue school and find the happiness that you deserve.

    • Jose?! Don’t worry, I plan on visiting. Or staying?! But probably after graduation.

        • Francine Parrish
        • October 1st, 2010

        Your words brought tears to my eyes, and then smiles, because you made it through….. You seem a be a well balance young lady with alot of talent. take care of your grandmother she’s a old friend of mind..
        I will remember your family in my prays.

    • Mom
    • September 28th, 2010

    It is relieving to finally know your thoughts and feelings through the words of your poetry. You have a great voice in your writing and it can definitely lead into a promising career. I have always been proud of you.

    On another note, I continue to pray for us to reunite.

    Always and forever, I love you.

    • ur ntee
    • September 28th, 2010

    I AM SO PROUD OF YOU LITTLE LADY ….YOUR VOICE IS BEING HEARD…….WHAT A BLESSED RESPONSE FROM YOUR MOM N HER HUSBAND…. THEN AGAIN SOL ONLY YOU WILL BENEFIT and WHAT YOUR FATHER AND WIFE TURNED TO WITHER will be ruined forever more… ALWAYS WALK WITH GRACE MY DARLEN

  2. cool poem,
    it reads like conversation!

  3. http://thursdaypoetsrallypoetry.wordpress.com/2010/10/09/mountains-are-high/

    take the awards after you are done,

    for Poets Rally, 3 poems can be submitted….

    also, vote your favorite poets after you finish your initial 18 commenting….

    Thanks a lot!
    have fun!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

