An Angel and a Rubber Band

I felt an angel speak to me

She told me that I would one day be free.

She said, “I hereby officiate this decree,

that this is the day you stand up and flee!”

____________________

I have to admit I did not understand

When suddenly, something appeared in my hand

Curled up in my palm was a tiny rubberband.

With one word on the side – Reprimand.

____________________

I calmy asked what the rubberband was for

She replied that if I dug deep in my core,

I’d see that like myself it was poor,

the result of being used more and more.

____________________

I realized what I needed to move on

I needed to speak to that man who is so far gone.

I could not let my dad use me as a pawn.

For ONCE it would be me with all of the brawn.

____________________

It occurred to me that I had not seen her face –

This wonderful angel with her Amazing grace.

All of her advice struck just the right place

so I had to see her – whatever the case.

____________________

When I opened my eyes to see

The angel staring beautifully,

I didn’t think she was what she’d be…

It was my reflection staring back at me.

  1. I LOVE IT MARISOL…the angel is you…your core is strong…very nice! 🙂

    • ur ntee
    • September 28th, 2010

    HELLO LITTLE WOMAN IVE TRIED TELLEN YOU THIS …. NOW DO YOU SEE

    • Jasmine
    • September 28th, 2010

    Woot Woot! Told you your peotry is awesome.

    • Mhmm. I still need to write that poem about umm… dysfunctional lips. I thought of something and didn’t write it down, so the idea left. ; ;

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

