Marisol vs. Christian Against Gays

If my own religion happens to matter in this, I don’t have one. However, my set of beliefs closely follows Confucianism. Closely follows because I disagree with that men are better than women thing. It’s vice versa. I would be in favor of a religion that is peaceful, where everyone is equal and my individuality is not limited in anyway. If you know that religion… HIT ME UP with what it is cuz that’s my religion. 😛

_

 Anyways, I brought up Pastor Martin Sempa in a conversation online. He is a pastor in Africa who preaches against homosexuality and claims that in the privacy of their bedroom, they “eat da poo poo” and fist each other. Person #1 responded by saying that not enough people preach against homosexuality. They believe that Christianity should be everywhere; in schools, and all because that is what God wanted (they say). Person #1 also said that they think being gay is a sin made by choice and is not a lifestyle as I suggested it was. They seemed to think that through accepting Jesus into their heart cured being gay. This was the end of the conversation, I regret that I couldn’t write down the whole thing. Before I get into it, before this dialogue happened, I asked if gays should have equal rights and they said no. I brought up that that was like saying a gay person can sit over there, but not here.

Person: I can’t help that homosexuals choose a sin that affects all aspects of their lives

Me: That signifies not being equal. And in that case, you think you’re better than a gay person? Only you deserve certain things?

Them: no I don’t think I’m better. I believe ALL sin should be against the law.

Me: Well, denying someone something you have would mean you think you’re better.

Them: but that wont happen and there will never be a perfect world. Which is why I’m looking forward to Heaven.

Me: Heaven won’t be perfect either.

Them: Heaven is perfect. God says it will.

Me: Thieves will still be there. Whores will still be there. Killers will still be there.

Them: nope. not unless they are saved. and they won’t be thieves and whores anymore.

Me: Can’t be perfect with imperfect people.

Them: “With God, all things are possible.”:)

Me: Nah… “With faith, all things are possible”

Them: U must not read your bible closely

Me: Just happens that this blind belief in God = a lot of faith.

Them: Then its the wrong version b/c mine says “With God, all things are possible.”

Me: Oh, I know it says that, but I believe its faith that makes things possible. Not God.

Them: well then my talking to u wont help u any

Me: I wasn’t looking for help, I was looking for understanding. No matter who I talk to, no one’s answer to why gays aren’t equal makes sense.

Them: u won’t get my understanding if u dont believe the Bible.

Me: I think the one thing Bible believers should so is admit they are ignorant about Hi. They haven’t met Him. They know his words, but everyone gets a different meaning out of it.

Them: umm didnt I say I didnt know all there was to know about God’s mind? (she didn’t)

Me: But that doesn’t mean everyone who reads it is correct if they believe different things from the SAME source. But yea, things have changed. God could have modernized himself. In the Bible it even says something against wearing 2 different kinds of materials.

Them: “God is the same yesterday, today, and tomorrow.”

Me: But you don’t know everything about God’s mind. Bible was written in the past. Things change. And if you say no, then that indicates God knows the future and he knows all, and that means he knowingly made people gay.

Them: and u dont think God knew that and provided for it, huh?

Me: And then he knowingly condemned them from the beginning. Then again, we were made to glorify him.

Them: he gave them free will to decide. just b/c he knew what they will doesn’t mean he condemned them. They do it themselves.

Me: Gays are an abomination and should be put to death. Making mistakes proves His glory. He made them knowing what they would choose then. And that means … the same as I just said. Lol. I think he plans everyone’s lives then.

Them: And one day, saved or not, u will find out everything u wanted to know

Me: I remember someone saying that God tailored a life for me and that He is the master weaver and whatnot.

Me: I hope so. And I will debate longer than this to Him about it.

_

If you didn’t read the dialogue, at least read this part, lol. I know it was long.

This debate lasted about 2 hours and that was just about 20-30 minutes of it. I don’t believe in God, but I’ve always searched for an understanding of how he is so “awesome”… I don’t understand how He can say “If man lies with mankind as he would lie with a woman, both of them have committed an abomination. They shall surely be put to death and their blood shall be upon them.” isn’t condemning them from the beginning. I don’t understand how he supposedly made everyone equal and loves them like his own children, yet says things like this. I don’t understand how people think accepting Jesus cures people of what they like and don’t like. Like Wanda Sykes said, “How many people you know wake up and say, ‘Hmm, I think I’ma suck a dick today’?”. I also don’t understand how you can tell someone is gay from before they know what gay even means and still say its a choice. Really? A 3 year old just randomly decided to be gay? And you know what… I’ve never met ONE PERSON who could answer any of these questions and make sense.

  1. No one can speak for God. But we can speak to him. Any questions you have, ask him and trust me that he will answer you 🙂 cause he is AWESOME 🙂

    • Trust me, I’ve tried. I used to be a believer. Raised in a Christian family.

    • Jasmine
    • October 3rd, 2010

    Honestly I think people who condem gays are hippocrates because who said that being gay is the worse sin? Definately not God. If I remember correctly (been a while since Church) suicide is the worse sin becasue you can’t atone for it. Like how lusting after another, lying, being jeoulus, and the many other sins that all humans commit daily are apart of their lifestyle. It’s apart of our lifestyle becasue we are human. Just like being gay is natural for some. So why is it that many religious people condem gays?

    I seriously hope you blasted them in the debate!

    • When it’s GAYS or MARIJUANA, of course I blast them because I won’t ever stop. Jesus says NOTHING of gay behavior himself, but the Bible says various things against gays, “And if a man lie with mankind, as with womankind, both of them have committed abomination: they shall surely be put to death; their blood shall be upon them.” And this makes people kill gays and take their rights. So yea, they do make gayness out to be the ultimate sin.

        • Jasmine
        • October 3rd, 2010

        It’s kinda twistedly (is that even a word?) funny how Jesus preached love for everyone and yet some Christians are so hateful towards people who don’t fit in with them.

  2. Idk, in my opinion Jesus seems like the cool one. Always kind, always equal. “God” is the one that wants to be evil to people he created.

    • Mom
    • October 6th, 2010

    I used to refer to myself as “Catholic” because I was baptized “Catholic”, but as of 3 years ago, I now refer to myself as a Christian. Through my life experiences and the people I’ve met over the years, I have grown to have an interest in different cultures and beliefs. I now have an eclectic group of friends consisting of different cultures, religions, race, color, and sexual preference. Just to name a few, I have gay/lesbian friends, Indian friends, Middle-Eastern, Asian, and Hispanic. We all respect eachothers differences but what we all have in common, is that we believe in a God.

    Please read the following article on Non-Denominational Christians. I hope it’s good readings to you. I love you.

    —————–

    Non-Denominational Christians
    Religion seems so confusing. Look around the city and you’ll see hundreds of church buildings with various names. Investigate further and you’ll find that these various churches teach different doctrines. If you are like many people, you might be fed up with everything that is done in the name of religion. People are tired of the confusion. Which church is right? How does a person know what to do and where to go? It just seems hopeless sometimes.
    The divisions that exist in the religious world do not represent what God wants, according to the Bible. Jesus prayed, concerning all believers:
    “that they all may be one, as You, Father, are in Me, and I in You; that they also may be one in Us, that the world may believe that You sent Me” (John 17:21).
    Jesus prayed for unity among believers. Therefore, when we see the divisions (denominations) that exist among those professing faith in Christ, then we know it is not what Jesus wants.
    Sadly, the consequences of such division result in the world disbelieving in Jesus. This is what Jesus said would happen. It is no wonder that there is so much confusion and disbelief.
    Is It Possible To Be Just A Christian Without Being A Member Of A Denomination?
    The common thought is that if you are a member of any church, then you must be a member of a denomination. This is not true. It is possible to be just a Christian without being a member of a denomination.
    Read the New Testament. During the first century A.D., when the events of the New Testament were taking place, there were not a bunch of various denominations. There were Christians in various locations. In their own locations, they would meet with other Christians in order to carry out work that God desired for them to do together. But when one became a Christian, he or she did not have to become anything else. A Christian was just that (Acts 11:26), and there is nothing in the Bible to support the idea of joining a denomination. In fact, God directly spoke against fragmenting off into various groups and identifying with certain creeds or men. By inspiration, the apostle Paul wrote:
    “Now I plead with you, brethren, by the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that you all speak the same thing, and that there be no divisions among you, but that you be perfectly joined together in the same mind and in the same judgment. For it has been declared to me concerning you, my brethren, by those of Chloe’s household, that there are contentions among you. Now I say this, that each of you says, ‘I am of Paul,’ or ‘I am of Apollos,’ or ‘I am of Cephas,’ or ‘I am of Christ.’ Is Christ divided? Was Paul crucified for you? Or were you baptized in the name of Paul?” (1 Corinthians 1:10-13).
    Christians at Corinth were beginning to divide (denominate) themselves and call themselves after men. This was expressly forbidden. Why should we think it any different today?
    Denominationalism is based upon division, and is therefore not what God designed. God designed a simple plan, wherein there would be “one body” (universally) and “one faith” (Ephesians 4:1-6). When we divide ourselves by men and doctrines into differing religious bodies with differing “faiths,” we are not honoring God’s plan for His people, the church. This is why we must oppose denominationalism.
    How Can I Be Just A Christian?
    You can be just a Christian, nothing more or less, by obeying the gospel of Jesus Christ through faith (Romans 6:3-5, 17-18; 10:13-17; Hebrews 5:9; Galatians 3:26-27, etc.). By doing exactly what the people in the first century did to become Christians, you will become exactly what they were: Christians.
    What did they do? The Scriptures teach that they were to believe on Jesus, repent of their sins, confess Him as Lord, and be baptized into His death (John 3:16; Acts 17:30-31; Romans 10:9-10; Acts 2:38; Romans 6:3-4). If you do this, you too can be just a Christian.

    Doy Moyer; doy@focusmagazine.org

  3. being honest is cool,
    regardless what you believe, having a faith in yourself is vital too….
    hope you well.

  4. http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/2010/10/poetry-potluck-beaches-and-mountains.html
    Our poetry potluck is NOW open, welcome linking in.
    your support is appreciated.
    hope to see you in.
    Cheers!
    miss you in the spot, we need some more support this week.

  5. http://thursdaypoetsrallypoetry.wordpress.com/2010/10/08/the-perfect-poet-award-4-poets-rally-week-30/

    award reminder, welcome to poets Rally week 31.
    have a lovely day!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

